Ballon d’Or: Luka Modric ends dominance of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo

Luka Modrić wins 2018 Ballon d’Or (UEFA)

Luka Modric, Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder becomes the first player in more than a ten years to win Ballon d’Or other than Lionel Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo.

The 33 years old Croatia midfielder won his third successive Champions League in May with Real Madrid and and helped Croatia reach first World Cup final. Kaka of Brazil, former AC Milan striker was the last player apart from Messi and Ronaldo to win it in 2007. Cristiano Ronaldo came second while two French players who won the World Cup: Antoine Griezmann of Atletico Madrid and Kylian Mbappe came third and fourth respectively. Barcelona forward Lionel Messi finished fifth.


One comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.